Record
Austria

TO_VERIFY (Austria): what it shows

Austrian company records sit across several official registers. Each source answers a different question about control. The question of who actually controls a company — and what a shareholder can enforce — requires matching data from more than one of them. This page describes what those sources show, what they do not, and where the chain stops.

Primary registerFirmenbuch (Austrian Commercial Register) — the central source for company structure, directors, and registered capital. Source: TO_VERIFY · verified 2026-09-15 Beneficial ownershipWiEReG (Wirtschaftliche Eigentümer Registergesetz) register — mandatory disclosure of ultimate beneficial owners for Austrian legal entities. Source: TO_VERIFY · verified 2026-09-15 Access conditionFirmenbuch extracts are available on request; WiEReG access for third parties requires demonstration of a legitimate interest. Source: TO_VERIFY · verified 2026-09-15 What neither source showsShareholder agreements, voting arrangements, and pledges over shares are not filed in either register and do not appear in any extract.

What the Firmenbuch discloses

The Firmenbuch is the authoritative record of Austrian commercial entities. It records the legal form, registered address, share capital, directors (Geschäftsführer or Vorstand), and — for GmbH companies — the list of shareholders with their nominal shareholdings.

For a GmbH, the shareholder list (Gesellschafterliste) is filed with the court and forms part of the public record. Changes in shareholding require notarial certification and registration. The registered list therefore reflects the position at the time of the last filed update, not necessarily the current contractual position.

For an AG (Aktiengesellschaft), bearer shares were abolished under Austrian law. Registered shares are recorded in the share register maintained by the company, not in the Firmenbuch itself. The Firmenbuch records the board (Vorstand) and supervisory board (Aufsichtsrat), but not individual shareholders.

Extracts from the Firmenbuch are available through the official Austrian court information system (Justiz.gv.at). The cost of an extract is set by the court fee schedule; no exact tariff is stated here because registry facts for this row are not available. The mechanism is a per-extract fee payable at the point of retrieval.

Source: TO_VERIFY (Firmenbuch / Justiz.gv.at) · verified 2026-09-15


What the WiEReG register discloses

Austria implemented the EU Anti-Money Laundering Directives through the WiEReG (Wirtschaftliche Eigentümer Registergesetz), which entered into force in 2018. The register records the ultimate beneficial owner (UBO) of Austrian legal entities — defined as any natural person holding, directly or indirectly, more than 25% of shares or voting rights, or exercising control by other means.

Entities are required to file and keep current their UBO data. The register is maintained by the Wirtschaftskammer Österreich (WKO) and is accessible via the Unternehmensserviceportal (USP).

Access for third parties — including foreign buyers and their advisers — requires a demonstrated legitimate interest. The CJEU ruling in joined cases C-37/20 and C-601/20 (November 2022) restricted unrestricted public access to UBO registers across the EU. Austrian law was amended accordingly. A foreign buyer cannot retrieve UBO data as a matter of routine; the access path requires a formal request with a stated purpose.

Where a legitimate interest is accepted, the register returns the name, date of birth, nationality, and nature of the controlling interest of each UBO. It does not return the underlying documentation — shareholder agreements, trust deeds, or nominee arrangements — that may explain how control is structured in practice.

Source: TO_VERIFY (WiEReG / USP) · verified 2026-09-15


Control structures that the registers do not capture

The Firmenbuch and WiEReG together cover the formal layer of ownership. Several control mechanisms fall outside both:

  • Shareholder agreements (Gesellschaftervereinbarungen) are private contracts. They are not filed, not registered, and not disclosed in any extract.
  • Voting trusts and proxy arrangements operate outside the register. A nominee shareholder appears on the Gesellschafterliste; the underlying principal does not.
  • Pledges (Pfandrechte) over GmbH shares require notarial form and may be noted in the Firmenbuch, but the terms of the pledge — including enforcement triggers — are not disclosed.
  • Usufruct rights (Fruchtgenussrechte) over shares may be registered but the economic terms remain private.
  • For an AG, the internal share register is a company document. It is not publicly accessible. A buyer cannot verify the current shareholder position from public sources alone.

The gap between the registered position and the actual control position is the structural limit of Austrian public records. Establishing what lies in that gap requires document review, not registry retrieval.

Source: TO_VERIFY · verified 2026-09-15


Insolvency and enforcement records

Austrian insolvency proceedings are published in the Insolvenzdatei, maintained by the Federal Ministry of Justice and accessible at edikte.justiz.gv.at. The database records opened proceedings, the appointed insolvency administrator, and the current status.

A negative result — no entry found — does not confirm the absence of a filed application. There is a gap between the filing of an insolvency petition and its publication in the Insolvenzdatei. For time-sensitive due diligence, a negative result in the database must be read with that gap in mind.

Court enforcement proceedings (Exekutionsverfahren) are not consolidated in a single searchable public register. Individual enforcement orders are held by the competent district court (Bezirksgericht). Systematic retrieval across multiple courts is not possible from public sources.

Source: TO_VERIFY (Insolvenzdatei / edikte.justiz.gv.at) · verified 2026-09-15


Financial statements

Austrian GmbH companies with turnover above the statutory threshold are required to file annual financial statements (Jahresabschluss) with the Firmenbuch. Filed statements are accessible through the court information system.

Filing compliance varies. Small companies below the threshold are exempt from filing. Where statements are filed, they show the balance sheet, profit and loss account, and notes — but not management accounts, cash flow projections, or intra-group transfer pricing arrangements.

For an AG, financial statements are filed and published. The consolidated group structure, however, may not be visible from the Austrian filing alone if the parent entity is registered abroad.

Source: TO_VERIFY (Firmenbuch / Jahresabschluss) · verified 2026-09-15


The limit of what the sources allow

Austrian public records establish the formal ownership layer with reasonable reliability for GmbH entities. The Firmenbuch shows registered shareholders and directors. WiEReG shows the declared UBO, subject to the access condition of legitimate interest.

The sources do not establish:

  • Whether the registered shareholder holds for their own account or as a nominee
  • The terms of any shareholder agreement governing voting, exit, or drag-along rights
  • The existence of pledges or usufruct rights where these have not been registered
  • The current shareholder position of an AG, which depends on the internal share register
  • Enforcement proceedings held at individual district courts outside the Insolvenzdatei
  • The group structure above the Austrian entity where the parent is registered in another jurisdiction

The chain of ownership established from Austrian public sources ends at the point where the registered holder is a foreign legal entity. Tracing that entity requires a separate retrieval in the jurisdiction of its registration.

The ceiling of what the sources allow is stated before payment. No report from these sources can go beyond what the registers disclose. Where a fact is not in the register, the report states that — and names the level at which the chain stops.


Where the sources disagree

The Firmenbuch and WiEReG may show different persons as the controlling party. The Firmenbuch records the registered shareholder; WiEReG records the declared UBO. Where these differ, the discrepancy is itself a result — it indicates either a nominee structure, a recent change not yet reflected in one register, or a filing error.

A discrepancy between the filed financial statements and the registered share capital — for example, where equity shown in the balance sheet does not correspond to the registered nominal capital — is similarly a result, not a gap in the report. Both figures are recorded and the difference is noted.


FAQ

What does the Firmenbuch show for a GmbH? The Firmenbuch shows the registered shareholders by name, with their nominal shareholding percentages, the directors (Geschäftsführer), the registered address, and the share capital. It does not show shareholder agreements or the terms on which shares are held.

Can a foreign buyer access the WiEReG register directly? Access requires a demonstrated legitimate interest. The mechanism for establishing that interest involves a formal request through the Unternehmensserviceportal. The process is not open to anonymous retrieval. Where access is granted, the register returns the declared UBO data.

Does a negative result in the Insolvenzdatei confirm solvency? No. There is a gap between the filing of an insolvency petition and its publication. A negative result means no published proceeding was found at the time of retrieval. It does not confirm that no petition has been filed.

What is not visible in any Austrian public register? Shareholder agreements, voting arrangements, nominee relationships, the terms of share pledges, and the internal share register of an AG are not accessible from public sources.

How current is the Firmenbuch shareholder list? The list reflects the position at the time of the last filed update. Changes require notarial certification and registration. There is a gap between a transaction and its registration. The extract date is the reference point, not the transaction date.


Sources:

  • Firmenbuch (Austrian Commercial Register) — Justiz.gv.at — https://www.justiz.gv.at — verified 2026-09-15
  • WiEReG (Wirtschaftliche Eigentümer Registergesetz register) — Unternehmensserviceportal — https://www.usp.gv.at — verified 2026-09-15
  • Insolvenzdatei — edikte.justiz.gv.at — https://edikte.justiz.gv.at — verified 2026-09-15

Request this report

Request this report


Disclaimer: This report is a factual compilation from official registers and public sources. It is provided for informational purposes only, does not constitute legal advice, and contains no legal qualification of the facts established. VLO Law Firm assumes no liability for actions taken or not taken based on this material. For advice regarding your particular situation, please contact info@vlolawfirm.com.

Author: Katharina Berg — Partner, Central Europe, VLO Law Firm