Record
Australia

TO_VERIFY (Australia): what it shows

Australian corporate records sit across several official registers. Each register has a defined scope. The question of who controls a company — and what a shareholder can enforce — requires reading those scopes together, not in isolation.

Control in Australian corporate structures is not always visible at the first layer. Registered officeholders and shareholders appear in the public record. Beneficial ownership, voting arrangements, and shareholder agreements generally do not. This page states what the sources show, what they withhold, and where the record ends.

Primary registerAustralian Securities and Investments Commission (ASIC) — the national regulator maintaining the Companies Register for all Australian-registered companies. Source: ASIC Companies Register · verified 2026-09-15. What it showsRegistered company name, ACN (Australian Company Number), date of registration, registered office address, current and former officeholders (directors and secretaries), and — for proprietary companies — a list of shareholders with share counts. Source: ASIC Companies Register · verified 2026-09-15. Access conditionBasic name and status searches are available without registration. Document-level extracts (current and historical) are available on payment of a per-document fee set by ASIC and published in its current fee schedule. No registry-access figure is stated here; the mechanism is per-document, not subscription-based. What it does not showBeneficial owners, nominee arrangements, shareholder agreements, voting trusts, or the terms of any security interest over shares. Source: ASIC Companies Register · verified 2026-09-15.

What the ASIC Companies Register discloses

ASIC maintains the definitive register of Australian companies under the Corporations Act 2001 (Cth). Every company registered in Australia holds an ACN. That number is the anchor for all official record retrieval.

The register discloses:

  • Company name, ACN, and registration date
  • Registered office and principal place of business
  • Company type (proprietary limited, public, no-liability, and others)
  • Current and former directors and secretaries, with appointment and cessation dates
  • For proprietary companies: shareholder names and the number of shares held by each

The shareholder list for a proprietary company is a statutory disclosure. It names registered holders. It does not identify the person on whose behalf a registered holder acts.

Public companies listed on the Australian Securities Exchange (ASX) have additional disclosure obligations. Substantial shareholding notices (above five percent) and changes to those positions are lodged with ASX and ASIC. Those notices are publicly accessible. They name the holder and the interest — but they do not capture holdings structured below the threshold or held through chains of entities.

Source: ASIC Companies Register · extracted 2026-09-15

What the Personal Property Securities Register discloses

The Personal Property Securities Register (PPSR) records security interests over personal property, including shares in companies. A search against a company's ACN reveals whether any registered security interest encumbers its shares or assets.

A PPSR result does not confirm the absence of unregistered security interests. Registration on the PPSR is a priority mechanism, not a complete inventory of encumbrances. An unregistered interest may still be enforceable between the parties.

Source: PPSR (Australian Financial Security Authority) · extracted 2026-09-15

What the Australian Business Register discloses

The Australian Business Register (ABR) records ABNs (Australian Business Numbers). An ABN search returns the entity name, ABN status (active or cancelled), entity type, and the state or territory of the main business location.

The ABR does not disclose directors, shareholders, or financial information. It confirms that an entity is registered for tax purposes and identifies its broad legal form. For a company, the ABN record points back to the ACN and therefore to the ASIC register.

Source: Australian Business Register (ABR) · extracted 2026-09-15

What insolvency and enforcement records disclose

ASIC maintains records of companies under external administration — voluntary administration, liquidation, receivership, and deed of company arrangement. Those records are searchable by company name or ACN.

The Federal Court of Australia and state Supreme Courts publish judgment databases. Enforcement proceedings against a company or its directors may appear in those records. Court search mechanisms vary by jurisdiction. A negative result in a court search does not confirm the absence of proceedings: not all matters are indexed in publicly searchable databases, and some proceedings are conducted in closed session.

The Australian Financial Security Authority (AFSA) maintains a National Personal Insolvency Index covering personal insolvency — bankruptcy, debt agreements, and personal insolvency agreements. This index covers individuals, not companies. A director search against this index may reveal personal insolvency affecting a company's controller.

Source: ASIC Insolvency Register; Federal Court of Australia; AFSA National Personal Insolvency Index · extracted 2026-09-15

Control structures: what the record reaches and where it stops

Registered shareholders are named. Beneficial owners are not. Australian law does not maintain a public beneficial ownership register equivalent to the UK's PSC register. ASIC's register records the legal holder of shares, not the person who ultimately owns or controls that holding.

Shareholder agreements are private contracts. They are not lodged with ASIC and do not appear in any public register. Voting arrangements, pre-emption rights, drag-along and tag-along provisions, and board composition rights all exist outside the public record.

Trust structures are common in Australian corporate ownership. A trustee appears on the share register as the legal holder. The trust deed — which governs the beneficial interests — is a private document. It is not filed with any public authority and is not retrievable through official registers.

For companies with foreign shareholders, the Foreign Investment Review Board (FIRB) administers the foreign investment framework. FIRB approval decisions are not published in a searchable database. The fact of approval or rejection is not part of the public record.

The ceiling of what the sources allow is stated before payment. Where the record ends, the analysis states that it ends — and identifies the mechanism that closes it.

Source: ASIC Companies Register; Corporations Act 2001 (Cth) · extracted 2026-09-15

The limit of what the sources allow

Australian official registers reach the registered layer of corporate ownership. They do not reach the beneficial layer.

The following are not disclosed in any Australian public register:

  • The identity of beneficial owners of shares held by nominees or trustees
  • The terms of shareholder agreements governing control, voting, or transfer
  • Unregistered security interests over shares or company assets
  • FIRB approval decisions and the conditions attached to them
  • The beneficial interests behind trust structures holding company shares

A search of ASIC, the PPSR, and the ABR establishes the registered position as at the date of the search. It does not establish who instructed the registered holder, what agreements govern the relationship between shareholders, or whether a security interest exists but has not been registered.

Where the chain of ownership passes through a foreign entity, the Australian register records that entity as the shareholder. The ownership structure of that foreign entity is governed by the law of its jurisdiction of incorporation. Australian registers do not look through it.

A negative result in the ASIC insolvency register confirms the absence of a recorded external administration. It does not confirm the absence of a filed application that has not yet been processed or recorded.

These limits are structural. They are not gaps that additional payment resolves. They are the boundary of what the official record contains.

Source: ASIC Companies Register; PPSR; AFSA National Personal Insolvency Index · extracted 2026-09-15

Where the sources disagree

Discrepancies between the ASIC register and other sources are themselves a result. Common patterns:

ASIC register versus ABR. An entity may hold an active ABN while the ASIC record shows the company as deregistered or under external administration. The ABR is not updated in real time from ASIC. A mismatch requires verification against both registers at the same extraction date.

ASIC shareholder list versus ASX substantial shareholding notices. For listed companies, the ASIC register and ASX notices may reflect different positions if a substantial holder has moved above or below a threshold since the last ASIC update. The ASX notice is the more current instrument for threshold-level holdings.

PPSR search versus company financial statements. A company may have granted security interests that are not registered on the PPSR. An unregistered interest does not appear in a PPSR search. Financial statement disclosures of secured liabilities and PPSR results should be read together, not as substitutes for each other.

Source: ASIC Companies Register; ASX Market Announcements; PPSR · extracted 2026-09-15

FAQ

What does an ASIC company extract confirm? An ASIC extract confirms the registered name, ACN, company type, registered office, current and former officeholders, and — for proprietary companies — the registered shareholders and their share counts. It confirms the legal position as recorded at the date of extraction. It does not confirm beneficial ownership or the terms of any private agreement between shareholders.

Does Australia have a public beneficial ownership register? No. Australia does not maintain a public register of beneficial owners equivalent to the UK PSC register. Registered shareholders are named. The person on whose behalf a registered holder acts is not disclosed in any public register.

What does a PPSR search establish? A PPSR search against a company's ACN returns registered security interests over that company's personal property, including shares. A clear result means no registered interest was found at the time of the search. It does not confirm the absence of unregistered security interests.

Can trust structures be identified through official registers? A trustee appears on the ASIC share register as the registered holder. The trust deed is a private document and is not filed with any public authority. Official registers do not disclose the beneficial interests behind a trust structure.

What insolvency records are publicly accessible? ASIC maintains records of companies under external administration. AFSA maintains the National Personal Insolvency Index for individuals. Court judgment databases are searchable by jurisdiction. A negative result across these sources does not guarantee the absence of proceedings not yet recorded or indexed.

What is the coverage level for Australian corporate records? Australian corporate records are classified at coverage level A for the registered layer: company name, ACN, officeholders, and registered shareholders are accessible through official channels. Beneficial ownership, shareholder agreements, and trust deed terms are not accessible through any public register.


Sources


Request this report

Request this report


Disclaimer: This report is a factual compilation from official registers and public sources. It is provided for informational purposes only, does not constitute legal advice, and contains no legal qualification of the facts established. VLO Law Firm assumes no liability for actions taken or not taken based on this material. For advice regarding your particular situation, please contact info@vlolawfirm.com.

Author: James Whitfield — Partner, UK & Common Law, VLO Law Firm