Record
England and Wales

Transaction — England and Wales: sources and limits

A shareholders agreement in England and Wales is a private contract. It is not filed at Companies House. What the official record shows is the company's constitutional framework — articles of association, share classes, directors, persons with significant control — not the terms privately agreed between shareholders. Before signing, the question is whether the official record supports or contradicts what the other side represents.

Control in an English company is not always where the share register says it is. Voting rights, reserved matters, drag-along and tag-along provisions, and board appointment rights all sit in documents that may or may not be on the public file. The transaction report maps what is visible, what is filed but requires extraction, and where the record ends.

What the record showsRegistered shareholders, share classes, directors, persons with significant control (PSC), filed accounts, charges, and insolvency events. Source: Companies House — verified 2026-09-01. Access conditionCompanies House is publicly accessible without registration. Filed documents are available per-document under Open Government Licence v3.0 with attribution. What the record does not showThe terms of any shareholders agreement, side letters, or informal voting arrangements. These are private and not filed. Source: Companies Act 2006 — verified 2026-09-01. PSC registerPersons with significant control are disclosed by name, nature of control, and date of notification. Source: Companies House PSC register — verified 2026-09-01. Charges registerFixed and floating charges are registered at Companies House. Satisfaction and release are also recorded. Source: Companies House charges register — verified 2026-09-01.

What the Companies House record establishes

Companies House holds the statutory record for every company incorporated in England and Wales. The register is public and accessible without charge or registration. What the firm pays for is the removed path: national identifier, document extraction, language, cross-referencing across filings, and interpretation of structural gaps.

The filed record includes:

  • Certificate of incorporation and any change of name
  • Current and historical articles of association
  • Confirmation statements, which carry the share register and shareholder names
  • Annual accounts and abbreviated accounts where filed
  • Director appointments, resignations, and service addresses
  • PSC register entries: name, nature of control, date notified, date ceased
  • Charges: creation, satisfaction, and release
  • Insolvency and dissolution notices

The confirmation statement is the primary source for share structure. It names registered shareholders, states the number and class of shares held, and records any changes since the previous statement. It does not record beneficial ownership beyond the PSC threshold. A nominee shareholder appears on the register; the beneficial owner appears only if the PSC rules require disclosure.

Source: Companies House · extracted 2026-09-01


The PSC register and its structural limits

The PSC register was introduced under the Small Business, Enterprise and Employment Act 2015 and is now governed by the Companies Act 2006 as amended. It requires disclosure of any individual or legal entity that holds more than 25 percent of shares or voting rights, can appoint or remove a majority of directors, or exercises significant influence or control.

The PSC register is a self-reported register. The company notifies Companies House; Companies House does not independently verify the notification. A PSC entry records what the company declared, not what an independent audit established.

Several structural limits apply:

  • The 25 percent threshold means that a shareholder holding exactly 25 percent is not required to appear.
  • Control exercised through a chain of non-UK entities may be disclosed at the level of a Relevant Legal Entity rather than the ultimate individual.
  • Trusts and foundations do not appear unless an individual trustee meets the PSC conditions personally.
  • A PSC entry marked "nature of control: right to exercise significant influence or control" is a legal characterisation made by the company. The underlying basis is not filed.

Where the PSC register shows a Relevant Legal Entity rather than an individual, the report traces the chain through available foreign registers and states the point at which the chain cannot be continued from public sources.

Source: Companies House PSC register · extracted 2026-09-01


Governance documents: articles, resolutions, and what is not filed

The articles of association are the company's constitutional document. They are filed at incorporation and whenever amended. A special resolution amending the articles must be filed at Companies House within 15 days. The filed articles are therefore current as of the last filed amendment.

What the articles show: share class rights, voting mechanics, quorum requirements, director appointment and removal procedures, and any entrenched provisions requiring a higher threshold for amendment.

What the articles do not show: the terms of any shareholders agreement. A shareholders agreement is a private contract between some or all shareholders. It is not filed. Its existence may be referenced in the articles — for example, a provision that the articles are subject to a shareholders agreement — but the terms are not disclosed.

The transaction report identifies:

  • Whether the filed articles contain any reference to a shareholders agreement
  • Whether any filed resolution amends or restates share class rights
  • Whether the articles contain drag-along, tag-along, or pre-emption provisions
  • Whether any class rights require consent that is not reflected in the standard voting structure

If the articles are silent on a matter that the other side represents as agreed, that gap is noted. The report does not resolve the gap; it states that it exists and where it appears.

Source: Companies House — filed articles and resolutions · extracted 2026-09-01


Filed accounts: what they establish and what they omit

Private companies in England and Wales file accounts at Companies House. The filing obligation and the permitted level of disclosure depend on company size. Small companies may file abbreviated accounts. Micro-entities may file a balance sheet only. Dormant companies file a simplified statement.

What filed accounts establish: total assets, net assets, creditors due within and after one year, and — for medium and large companies — a profit and loss account. Group accounts, where filed, show the consolidated position.

What filed accounts do not establish: the terms of any intercompany loan, the existence of off-balance-sheet arrangements, or the valuation basis for unlisted investments. Related-party transactions are disclosed in notes to the accounts for medium and large companies; they are not required in abbreviated filings.

The gap between the balance sheet and the actual financial position of the company is a known structural limit of the English filing regime. The report states what the filed accounts show, identifies the filing category, and notes where the permitted level of disclosure means that material items may not appear.

Source: Companies House — filed accounts · extracted 2026-09-01


Charges and security interests

The charges register at Companies House records fixed and floating charges created by the company. Registration is required within 21 days of creation. An unregistered charge is void against a liquidator, administrator, or creditor — but it may still be valid between the parties until insolvency.

The charges register shows: the date of creation, the type of charge, the chargee, and the assets charged where described. It does not show the underlying loan amount, the interest rate, or the covenants attached to the facility.

A charge marked as satisfied means the company filed a statement of satisfaction. It does not mean the underlying debt is extinguished if the satisfaction was filed in error or the charge was re-created.

The report extracts all current and historical charges, identifies any charge that has not been formally satisfied, and notes any charge where the assets charged are described in terms broad enough to cover the shares being acquired.

Source: Companies House charges register · extracted 2026-09-01


Insolvency and court records

The Insolvency Register maintained by the Insolvency Service records individual insolvency proceedings: bankruptcy orders, individual voluntary arrangements, and debt relief orders. It does not record corporate insolvency proceedings directly.

Corporate insolvency proceedings — administration, liquidation, company voluntary arrangements — are notifiable events that appear on the Companies House record and in the London Gazette. The report checks both.

Court judgments against the company are not held in a single searchable register in England and Wales. The Register of Judgments, Orders and Fines maintained by Registry Trust records county court judgments (CCJs) and High Court judgments that have been registered. High Court judgments are not automatically registered; registration requires a separate application by the judgment creditor.

A negative result on the Register of Judgments does not confirm the absence of High Court proceedings. It confirms only that no judgment has been registered in that register.

Director disqualification is recorded on the Companies House disqualified directors register. The report checks all current directors against this register.

Source: Insolvency Service Insolvency Register · extracted 2026-09-01 Source: Registry Trust — Register of Judgments, Orders and Fines · extracted 2026-09-01 Source: Companies House — disqualified directors register · extracted 2026-09-01


The limit of what the sources allow

The official record in England and Wales is more complete than in most jurisdictions. It is not complete.

The shareholders agreement is not on the public file. Its existence, its terms, and any amendments are private. The report can identify whether the articles reference an agreement and whether any filed resolution is consistent or inconsistent with what the other side represents. It cannot produce the agreement.

The PSC register is self-reported. The report extracts what was declared. It does not verify the declaration against underlying ownership documents.

Abbreviated and micro-entity accounts omit material financial information. The filing category determines what appears. A small company balance sheet does not show turnover, profit, or director remuneration.

Unregistered charges are not visible. A charge created but not registered within 21 days is void in insolvency but may not appear on the register. The report notes the absence of a charge; it cannot confirm that no unregistered charge exists.

High Court proceedings are not automatically searchable. A judgment creditor who has not registered the judgment does not appear on the Register of Judgments. Ongoing proceedings that have not yet resulted in a judgment are not visible from any public register.

Beneficial ownership below the PSC threshold is not disclosed. A shareholder holding 24 percent through a nominee does not appear on the PSC register. The confirmation statement shows the nominee; the beneficial owner is not visible.

The ceiling of what the sources allow is stated before payment.


Scope and fixed price

Tier Price What is included What is NOT included
Signal €1,350 Companies House extract: current officers, shareholders, PSC register, charges register, confirmation statement, insolvency check, disqualified directors check. Delivered as structured report with source citations. Filed accounts analysis; court records; cross-border chain tracing; articles and resolutions review.
Standard €2,850 Everything in Signal, plus: full filed accounts review (all available periods), articles of association and all filed resolutions, charges analysis with asset description, London Gazette insolvency check, Register of Judgments search. Cross-border beneficial ownership chain; foreign register extraction; legal qualification of findings.
Extended €6,300 Everything in Standard, plus: cross-border PSC chain tracing through available foreign registers with stated break-point, related-party transaction mapping from filed accounts, director and officer history across all associated UK entities, consolidated governance gap analysis against represented terms. Verification of private shareholders agreement terms; legal qualification of findings; representation in proceedings.

FAQ

Does Companies House show who actually controls the company? The PSC register shows persons with significant control as declared by the company. It covers individuals and entities above the 25 percent threshold. Control exercised below that threshold, through nominees, or through private contractual arrangements is not visible from the public record. The report extracts the PSC register and states where the chain ends.

Can the report confirm whether a shareholders agreement exists? The report identifies whether the filed articles reference a shareholders agreement and whether any filed resolution is consistent with the terms represented. It cannot produce or verify the terms of a private agreement. The existence of a gap between the articles and the represented terms is itself a finding.

What does a clean charges register mean? A clean charges register means no charge has been registered and not satisfied. It does not mean no charge exists: a charge created but not registered within 21 days is void in insolvency but may not appear on the register. The report states the position on the register and notes this structural limit.

How current is the Companies House record? The confirmation statement must be filed annually. Accounts must be filed within nine months of the financial year end for private companies. There is a structural lag between events and their appearance on the register. The report states the date of the most recent filing for each document type.

What happens if the PSC register shows a Relevant Legal Entity rather than an individual? The report traces the chain through available foreign registers for that entity. Where the chain cannot be continued from public sources, the report states the jurisdiction, the entity, and the reason the chain ends at that point. This is a finding, not a failure of the report.

Does the report cover proceedings that have not yet resulted in a judgment? Ongoing proceedings that have not resulted in a registered judgment are not visible from any public register in England and Wales. The report covers the Register of Judgments, Orders and Fines and the Companies House record. It does not cover unregistered High Court proceedings or proceedings in early stages.


Sources:

Companies House — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk — extracted 2026-09-01

Insolvency Service — Individual Insolvency Register — https://www.insolvencydirect.bis.gov.uk/eiir/ — extracted 2026-09-01

Registry Trust — Register of Judgments, Orders and Fines — https://www.registry-trust.org.uk — extracted 2026-09-01

London Gazette — insolvency and dissolution notices — https://www.thegazette.co.uk — extracted 2026-09-01


Request this report

Request this report


Disclaimer: This report is a factual compilation from official registers and public sources. It is provided for informational purposes only, does not constitute legal advice, and contains no legal qualification of the facts established. VLO Law Firm assumes no liability for actions taken or not taken based on this material. For advice regarding your particular situation, please contact info@vlolawfirm.com.

Author: James Whitfield — Partner, UK & Common Law, VLO Law Firm