Record
England and Wales

Multi tier chain in England and Wales

A multi-tier chain in England and Wales places one or more intermediate holding companies between the ultimate controller and the operating entity. Each node in that chain is a separate legal person. Companies House holds a public record for each English and Welsh node. The question of control — who actually directs the company and what a shareholder can enforce — requires reading every node in sequence, not just the bottom entity.

Control in a multi-tier structure is not always where registered ownership sits. A 51 % shareholder at the top of the chain may hold no shares in the operating company at all. The analysis establishes the chain link by link, identifies where voting rights concentrate, and states at which node the record stops disclosing the next layer.

What the register showsFor each English or Welsh company: registered shareholders with share classes and percentages, directors by name, persons with significant control (PSC) where the threshold is met. Source: Companies House · verified 2026-09-01 Access conditionThe Companies House register is publicly accessible without registration. Document-level retrieval is available per filing. Source: Companies House · verified 2026-09-01 What the register does not showBeneficial ownership below the PSC threshold, nominee arrangements, trust beneficiaries, and the internal terms of any shareholders' agreement. Source: Companies House · verified 2026-09-01 Chain depthEach non-UK node in the chain falls outside Companies House jurisdiction. The record stops at the first foreign holding company. Source: Companies House · verified 2026-09-01

Source: Companies House · extracted 2026-09-01


What Companies House records at each node

Companies House maintains a live register for every company incorporated in England and Wales. For a multi-tier chain, each English or Welsh holding company is a separate registered entity with its own filing history.

The register records, at each node:

  • Shareholders: name, share class, number of shares, and percentage held
  • Directors: full name, date of appointment, and correspondence address
  • Persons with significant control: name, nature of control, and date of notification
  • Filed accounts and confirmation statements

The PSC register was introduced in 2016. It requires disclosure of any individual or legal entity that holds more than 25 % of shares or voting rights, or that otherwise exercises significant influence or control. Where a corporate shareholder itself qualifies as a PSC, the chain continues upward to that entity's own PSC register.

The register is public and accessible without charge for browsing. Document retrieval — individual filings, accounts, and incorporation documents — is available per item. What the analysis provides is the assembled path: each node identified by its registered number, each filing retrieved and cross-referenced, each gap in the chain named and located.

This register is public and free of charge. What you are paying for is the removed path: registration, national identifier, language, electronic signature, declaration of legitimate interest.

Source: Companies House · extracted 2026-09-01


Control in a multi-tier structure: what the record establishes

Control in a multi-tier chain in England and Wales operates at two levels: formal registered control and practical operational control. The register addresses the first. The analysis maps both and states where they diverge.

Registered control is established by reading the shareholder register and PSC register at each node. A 100 % shareholder at node A controls node B only if node A is itself controlled by an identifiable person or entity. Where node A is a foreign holding company, the chain continues outside Companies House jurisdiction.

Voting rights are determined by the articles of association and any shareholders' agreement. The articles are filed at Companies House and are part of the public record. A shareholders' agreement is a private document and does not appear on the register. Its existence may be disclosed in filed accounts or in a prospectus, but its terms are not public.

Director appointments are recorded in real time. A director appointed by a majority shareholder exercises day-to-day control. The register shows who the directors are and when they were appointed. It does not show the terms of any service agreement or the scope of any board resolution.

The analysis cross-references the shareholder register, the PSC register, the articles, and filed accounts at each node. Where these sources disagree — for example, where the PSC register names a corporate entity but the shareholder register names a nominee — that disagreement is itself a result.

Source: Companies House · extracted 2026-09-01


Where the sources disagree

Discrepancies between sources in a multi-tier chain analysis are common. They are not errors to be resolved before delivery; they are findings to be reported.

The most frequent discrepancies in English and Welsh multi-tier chains:

  • PSC register vs. shareholder register: The PSC register may name an individual as the person with significant control while the shareholder register names a corporate nominee. Both records are correct. The discrepancy identifies the nominee layer.
  • Filed accounts vs. confirmation statement: Accounts may disclose a related-party transaction or a group structure that is not visible in the confirmation statement. Where the two sources describe the same entity differently, both descriptions are reported.
  • Articles vs. shareholders' agreement: The articles are public. A shareholders' agreement is not. Where the articles grant veto rights to a minority shareholder, that right is on record. Where a shareholders' agreement modifies those rights, the modification is not on record — and the analysis states that.
  • Foreign node vs. English node: A foreign holding company that owns an English subsidiary appears in the English subsidiary's shareholder register. Its own ownership structure is not on the Companies House record. The analysis names the foreign node, states its jurisdiction, and identifies what is and is not available from that jurisdiction's register.

Source: Companies House · extracted 2026-09-01


The limit of what the sources allow

Companies House is one of the most transparent corporate registers in the world. It is also a register of notifications, not a register of verified facts. The ceiling of what the sources allow is stated here before any payment is made.

What the record does not establish:

The PSC register records what has been notified. It does not verify that the notification is accurate. A person who should be registered as a PSC but has not been notified does not appear. The analysis identifies whether the PSC register is complete on its face; it cannot confirm completeness against undisclosed arrangements.

Nominee shareholders are lawful in England and Wales. A nominee's name appears in the shareholder register. The beneficial owner behind the nominee does not appear unless the nominee has filed a PSC notification. The analysis identifies nominee indicators — corporate nominees, professional registered office providers, patterns of simultaneous appointment — and states what they indicate and what they do not prove.

Trust structures are not disclosed on the Companies House register. A trustee holding shares appears as a shareholder. The trust deed, the beneficiaries, and the terms of the trust are not public documents. The analysis states where a trust structure is indicated and where the record stops.

Foreign holding companies break the chain. Where a non-UK entity appears as a shareholder, the analysis identifies that entity, states its jurisdiction, and reports what is available from that jurisdiction's public register. For jurisdictions where the register is closed or does not disclose shareholders, the chain stops at that node and the analysis says so.

Dissolved and struck-off companies may appear in historical shareholder registers. Their current status is on record. Their assets and liabilities at dissolution are not.

The analysis delivers what the sources allow. It names the ceiling. It does not speculate beyond it.

Source: Companies House · extracted 2026-09-01


What is included at each tier

Tier Price What is included Not included
Signal €890 Registered shareholders and directors at the target English or Welsh company; PSC register entries; confirmation statement and articles; identification of the immediate parent entity and its jurisdiction Analysis of nodes above the immediate parent; foreign register retrieval; shareholders' agreement review; accounts cross-reference
Standard €1,900 Full chain mapping across all English and Welsh nodes; PSC register at each node; filed accounts cross-reference at each node; identification of all foreign nodes with jurisdiction and register status; discrepancy report between PSC register and shareholder register Retrieval from foreign registers; legal qualification of findings; shareholders' agreement review
Extended €4,200 Full chain mapping including retrieval from available foreign registers for each non-UK node; cross-reference of accounts, PSC register, shareholder register, and articles at each node; discrepancy report with source-level attribution; identification of nominee indicators and trust indicators; written summary of where the chain stops and why Legal advice; shareholders' agreement review; court filings or enforcement action

FAQ

What is a person with significant control (PSC) and does every company have one on record?

A PSC is any individual or legal entity that meets one or more of the statutory conditions: holding more than 25 % of shares or voting rights, holding the right to appoint or remove a majority of directors, or otherwise exercising significant influence or control. Every English and Welsh company is required to maintain a PSC register. Where no individual meets the threshold, the company records that fact. Where a corporate entity meets the threshold, that entity is recorded, and the analysis continues to that entity's own PSC register.

Can a shareholders' agreement override what the Companies House record shows?

A shareholders' agreement is a private contract. It does not appear on the Companies House register. Its terms may modify the rights shown in the articles of association — for example, granting veto rights to a minority shareholder or restricting share transfers. The analysis identifies where a shareholders' agreement is indicated by references in filed accounts or other public documents. The terms of the agreement are not on record and are not reported.

What happens when a node in the chain is a foreign company?

A foreign company that holds shares in an English or Welsh company appears in that company's shareholder register. The foreign company's own ownership structure is not within Companies House jurisdiction. The analysis identifies the foreign node, states its jurisdiction, and reports what is available from that jurisdiction's public register. Where the foreign register does not disclose shareholders or is not publicly accessible, the chain stops at that node and the analysis states the reason.

How current is the Companies House record?

Companies House records are updated on filing. A confirmation statement must be filed at least once every twelve months. Accounts filing deadlines vary by company type. The record reflects what has been filed, not what is current in fact. A change in shareholding that has not yet been notified will not appear. The analysis states the date of the most recent confirmation statement and accounts at each node.

Does the analysis cover companies registered in Scotland or Northern Ireland?

Scotland and Northern Ireland have separate registers: Companies House Scotland and Companies Registry Northern Ireland. An English and Welsh multi-tier chain may include nodes registered in those jurisdictions. The Standard and Extended tiers include retrieval from all three UK registers where nodes are identified.


Sources

Companies House — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk — extracted 2026-09-01

The Register of People with Significant Control Regulations 2016 (SI 2016/339) — legislative basis for PSC disclosure requirements — verified 2026-09-01

Companies Act 2006 — statutory framework for shareholder rights, director duties, and register maintenance — verified 2026-09-01


Request this report

Request this report


Disclaimer: This report is a factual compilation from official registers and public sources. It is provided for informational purposes only, does not constitute legal advice, and contains no legal qualification of the facts established. VLO Law Firm assumes no liability for actions taken or not taken based on this material. For advice regarding your particular situation, please contact info@vlolawfirm.com.

Author: James Whitfield — Partner, UK & Common Law, VLO Law Firm