Record
Germany

Handelsregister (Germany): what it shows

What it showsRegistered shareholders (GmbH: Gesellschafterliste with names and percentage stakes), managing directors, registered address, legal form, and filed documents. Source: handelsregister.de · verified 2026-09-15 Cost of accessFree of charge and without registration since 01.08.2022 (DiRUG reform). Certified extracts carry a separate fee set by the registrar. Source: handelsregister.de · verified 2026-09-15 Access conditionNo registration, no national identifier, no declaration of legitimate interest required for standard retrieval. Source: handelsregister.de · verified 2026-09-15 What it does not showNo structured data output: delivery is PDF and scanned documents. Beneficial owners above the GmbH layer are not disclosed here. Source: handelsregister.de · verified 2026-09-15

The Handelsregister is the authoritative source for the formal ownership layer of German commercial entities. For a GmbH, it contains the Gesellschafterliste — the list of shareholders with names and percentage stakes, updated each time a notarised transfer is filed. For an AG, it records the board and supervisory board but not individual shareholders. The question of who controls the company begins here and, in many structures, does not end here.

Control in a German GmbH is exercised through the Gesellschafterversammlung. The Gesellschafterliste names who holds that seat. Whether a named shareholder acts on their own account or on behalf of another person is a separate question — one the Handelsregister does not answer.


What the Handelsregister contains

The register holds two categories of record: current entries and filed documents.

Current entries include the company's legal name, registered seat, legal form, registered share capital (for a GmbH), names and appointment dates of managing directors (Geschäftsführer), and any registered powers of attorney (Prokura). For a GmbH, the current Gesellschafterliste is part of the filed documents, not the current entry itself — a distinction that matters when reading the extract.

Filed documents include the Gesellschafterliste in its successive versions, the articles of association (Gesellschaftsvertrag), notarised resolutions on structural changes, and — where filed — annual financial statements. Since 01.08.2022, all of these are retrievable at handelsregister.de without registration and without charge. The output is PDF and scanned images; no machine-readable structured data is produced by the portal.

The Gesellschafterliste is updated by the notary following each transfer of shares. The version on file reflects the state at the time of the last notarised act. A gap between that date and the retrieval date is possible and is noted in the analysis.

Source: Handelsregister · extracted 2026-09-15


The shareholder layer: what is visible and what is not

For a GmbH, the Gesellschafterliste names each shareholder with their stake expressed as a nominal amount and as a percentage. If the shareholder is a natural person, the name appears directly. If the shareholder is a legal entity — a holding company, a foreign LLC, a trust — that entity's name appears, and the chain continues upward into a separate jurisdiction.

For an AG, the Handelsregister does not list shareholders at all. Shareholders of an AG are identified through the share register (Aktienregister) for registered shares, which is held by the company and is not a public document. Bearer shares in German AGs have been effectively abolished since 2019, but the Aktienregister remains private.

The Handelsregister therefore provides a complete shareholder picture for a GmbH at the first corporate layer. It provides no shareholder picture for an AG.

Entity type Shareholders visible Directors visible Certified extract available
GmbH Yes — Gesellschafterliste with names and stakes Yes — Geschäftsführer Yes — fee applies
AG No — Aktienregister is private Yes — Vorstand and Aufsichtsrat Yes — fee applies
GmbH & Co. KG Komplementär (GmbH) visible; Kommanditisten named in the register Yes — via GmbH layer Yes
UG (haftungsbeschränkt) Yes — same rules as GmbH Yes Yes

Source: Handelsregister · extracted 2026-09-15


Directors and authorised signatories

The Handelsregister records each managing director (Geschäftsführer) with their name, date of birth, and the scope of their authority — whether they may act alone (Einzelvertretungsbefugnis) or only jointly with another director or a holder of Prokura.

Prokura — a statutory power of attorney under German commercial law — is also registered. A Prokurist can bind the company in most commercial transactions. The register shows the name and the scope (individual or joint).

Appointment and removal of directors are registered events. The date of each change is on record. A director removed before the retrieval date will not appear in the current entry but will appear in the history of filed documents.

Source: Handelsregister · extracted 2026-09-15


Financial statements in the Handelsregister

German GmbHs above certain size thresholds are required to file annual financial statements (Jahresabschlüsse) with the Bundesanzeiger, the federal gazette. Since the DiRUG reform, links to filed statements are accessible through handelsregister.de. Micro-entities file abbreviated balance sheets only; small companies file balance sheet and notes without the profit and loss account; medium and large companies file full statements.

The filing obligation is tied to size thresholds defined in the Handelsgesetzbuch (HGB). A company that has not crossed any threshold may file nothing beyond the balance sheet total. The absence of a profit and loss account in the public record is therefore not a gap in compliance — it may simply reflect the applicable threshold.

Statements are filed with a lag. The statutory deadline is twelve months after the financial year end. Retrieval of the most recent filed statement does not necessarily reflect the current financial position.

Source: Handelsregister / Bundesanzeiger · extracted 2026-09-15


The limit of what the sources allow

The Handelsregister discloses the formal ownership layer. It does not disclose the beneficial owner.

Since the Fifth Anti-Money Laundering Directive, Germany maintains the Transparenzregister — a separate register of beneficial owners (wirtschaftlich Berechtigte). Following the CJEU judgment in Cases C-37/20 and C-601/20 (November 2022), public access to UBO registers across the EU was suspended pending national legislative response. The German Transparenzregister currently requires a demonstration of legitimate interest for access. The conditions and procedures for that demonstration are set by the Bundesverwaltungsamt and are subject to change.

The Handelsregister therefore shows who holds the shares. It does not show who instructed the shareholder, who funded the acquisition, or who receives the economic benefit. For a GmbH held by a foreign holding company, the chain continues into the jurisdiction of that holding company — and the Handelsregister does not follow it.

Additional limits:

  • The Gesellschafterliste reflects the last notarised transfer. An agreement to transfer shares that has not yet been notarised does not appear.
  • A nominee shareholder arrangement is not disclosed. The register shows the nominee's name.
  • Pledges over GmbH shares (Verpfändung) may be noted in the Gesellschafterliste but are not always visible in the current entry.
  • Insolvency proceedings are recorded in the Handelsregister once opened, but the Insolvenzbekanntmachungen portal is the primary source for insolvency status. A negative result in the Handelsregister alone does not confirm the absence of a filed petition.

The analysis names the layer at which the chain stops and states the reason.

Source: Handelsregister · extracted 2026-09-15


Where the sources disagree

The Gesellschafterliste and the articles of association (Gesellschaftsvertrag) may show different pictures of control. The articles may contain provisions — drag-along rights, reserved matters requiring supermajority, veto rights attached to specific share classes — that alter effective control without changing the nominal percentage in the Gesellschafterliste.

A shareholder holding 51% of the nominal capital may not hold 51% of the voting rights if the articles assign weighted votes or if a shareholders' agreement (Gesellschaftervereinbarung) restricts certain decisions. Shareholders' agreements are private contracts. They are not filed with the Handelsregister and are not visible in the register.

Where the filed articles and the Gesellschafterliste are internally consistent but a shareholders' agreement is known or suspected to exist, the analysis notes the gap explicitly.

Source: Handelsregister · extracted 2026-09-15


Access conditions and the path removed

This register is public and free of charge. What a retrieval engagement covers is the removed path: the correct court identifier (each German court maintains its own register section), the company's HRB or HRA number, navigation of the portal in German, extraction of successive Gesellschafterlisten to reconstruct the ownership history, and cross-referencing with the Bundesanzeiger for financial statements.

The Handelsregister portal does not provide a unified search by director name across all courts. Identifying all companies in which a named individual holds a directorship requires court-by-court queries or access to a commercial aggregator. That path is part of what a structured retrieval covers.

Certified extracts (beglaubigte Abschriften) carry a fee set by the registrar. The fee schedule is published by the individual Amtsgericht and is not reproduced here; the applicable amount is confirmed at the time of the request.

Source: Handelsregister · extracted 2026-09-15


FAQ

Does the Handelsregister show the beneficial owner of a German GmbH? No. The Handelsregister shows the registered shareholder — the legal owner of the shares. The beneficial owner is recorded in the Transparenzregister, a separate register with restricted access following the CJEU ruling of November 2022. The two sources must be read together, and access to the Transparenzregister requires a demonstration of legitimate interest.

Is the Gesellschafterliste always current? The Gesellschafterliste is updated following each notarised share transfer. A transfer agreed but not yet notarised does not appear. The date of the most recent version on file is stated in the analysis; any gap between that date and the retrieval date is noted.

What does the Handelsregister show for a German AG? For an AG, the register shows the management board (Vorstand), the supervisory board (Aufsichtsrat), and the registered seat and capital. It does not show shareholders. The shareholder register (Aktienregister) is a private document held by the company.

Can a foreign buyer access the Handelsregister without a German address or identifier? Yes. Since 01.08.2022, handelsregister.de is accessible without registration, without a German national identifier, and without a declaration of legitimate interest. The portal operates in German; navigation and document interpretation require German-language competence.

What is the difference between the Handelsregister and the Bundesanzeiger? The Handelsregister records structural facts: shareholders, directors, legal form, registered seat. The Bundesanzeiger is the publication platform for financial statements and certain corporate notices. Since the DiRUG reform, both are accessible through handelsregister.de, but they remain separate databases with separate search interfaces.

Does an insolvency proceeding appear in the Handelsregister? Opened insolvency proceedings are recorded in the Handelsregister. However, the primary source for insolvency status is the Insolvenzbekanntmachungen portal (insolvenzbekanntmachungen.de). A negative result in the Handelsregister alone does not confirm the absence of a filed petition or a proceeding in an early stage.


Sources

Handelsregister — handelsregister.de — extracted 2026-09-15

Bundesanzeiger — bundesanzeiger.de — extracted 2026-09-15

Insolvenzbekanntmachungen — insolvenzbekanntmachungen.de — extracted 2026-09-15


Request this report

Request this report


Disclaimer: This report is a factual compilation from official registers and public sources. It is provided for informational purposes only, does not constitute legal advice, and contains no legal qualification of the facts established. VLO Law Firm assumes no liability for actions taken or not taken based on this material. For advice regarding your particular situation, please contact info@vlolawfirm.com.

Author: Katharina Berg — Partner, Central Europe, VLO Law Firm