Record
General

Counterparty report before a minority stake acquisition

A minority stake acquisition transfers capital into a structure the buyer does not control. The counterparty — the selling shareholder, the company itself, or both — holds that control. What the buyer can enforce depends entirely on what the founding documents, the shareholder register, and the filed accounts actually say. This report establishes those facts before the transaction closes.

The angle here is control: who holds it, on what legal basis, and what a minority shareholder can compel the majority to do. Every section below maps to a source. Where no source exists, the gap is named.

What the report establishesRegistered ownership chain, director appointments, filed financial statements, and any recorded encumbrances on the shares being acquired. Sources vary by jurisdiction; no single register covers all four layers. What it does not establishBeneficial ownership beyond the registered layer, undisclosed side agreements between existing shareholders, and any pledge or lien not filed with the relevant registry. Condition of accessMost corporate registries require a national identifier, a declared legitimate interest, or a registered local agent. The removed path — identifier, language, electronic signature, declaration — is what the report fee covers. Ceiling of the sourcesStated before payment. No report is issued without a written scope note identifying what the available sources cannot confirm.

What a counterparty report covers before a minority stake acquisition

A counterparty report before a minority stake acquisition is not a single document. It is a layered extraction across four distinct source categories, each with its own access conditions, update frequency, and structural limits.

Layer 1 — Corporate registry. The registered office, director appointments, share capital, and any filed amendments to the articles of association. In most jurisdictions this layer is the most current and the most accessible. It shows the legal skeleton of the company: who is named, in what capacity, since when.

Layer 2 — Shareholder register. In jurisdictions that require a filed shareholder list — Germany's Gesellschafterliste, Poland's KRS shareholder data, the UK's confirmation statement — the register names participants with their percentage holdings. In jurisdictions that do not require filing (Delaware LLC, many offshore structures), this layer is absent from public sources entirely.

Layer 3 — Filed financial statements. Where mandatory filing applies, the accounts show the company's reported financial position. They do not show cash flows between related parties, intercompany loans not disclosed as such, or contingent liabilities below the disclosure threshold.

Layer 4 — Insolvency and enforcement records. Court-administered insolvency registers, enforcement databases, and published judgments. A negative result here does not confirm the absence of a filed petition; it confirms the absence of a recorded one.

The report assembles all four layers. It states, for each layer, what was found, what was absent, and what the source structurally cannot show.


Control: what the sources establish and where they stop

The control question in a minority stake acquisition has two parts. First: who holds the majority, and on what legal basis? Second: what can the minority enforce against that majority?

The first part is answerable from sources. The second is not — it depends on the articles of association, any shareholders' agreement, and the applicable corporate law of the jurisdiction. This report answers the first part and identifies the documents that govern the second.

Registered majority. The shareholder register, where filed, names the majority participant and their percentage. If the majority is held through a holding company, the chain continues upward until it reaches either a natural person or a jurisdiction where the chain is not publicly disclosed.

Director appointments. The corporate registry shows who is currently registered as a director or managing officer. It does not show who instructs them. In structures where the registered director is a nominee, the instructing party does not appear in any public source.

Voting rights vs. economic rights. Some jurisdictions permit share classes with differential voting rights. The articles of association — filed in most civil-law registries, available on request in common-law registries — specify whether the shares being acquired carry voting rights proportional to their economic interest.

Shareholders' agreement. This document is almost never filed publicly. Its existence may be referenced in the articles; its terms are not. The report identifies whether a shareholders' agreement is referenced in filed documents. Its content is outside the scope of any registry-based report.

Source layer What it shows What it does not show
Corporate registry Directors, registered office, share capital, amendments Nominee relationships, undisclosed instructions
Shareholder register (where filed) Named participants, percentage holdings Beneficial owners behind registered holders
Filed accounts Reported financial position, auditor sign-off Related-party flows below threshold, contingent liabilities
Insolvency register Recorded proceedings, published judgments Filed petitions not yet recorded, foreign proceedings
Articles of association Share classes, voting rights, quorum rules Shareholders' agreement terms

Jurisdiction coverage across 35 registries

The report covers counterparties incorporated in any of 35 jurisdictions. The source layer available in each jurisdiction differs. The table below maps the structural availability by layer type.

Civil-law jurisdictions (EU and EEA). Corporate registries are generally public and machine-readable. Shareholder lists are filed in most jurisdictions following the EU's company law directives. Financial statements are filed and searchable. UBO registers exist in all EU member states; access conditions vary following the CJEU ruling in joined cases C-37/20 and C-601/20, and the report does not treat any EU UBO register as openly accessible without verifying the current access regime for that jurisdiction.

Common-law jurisdictions. The UK's Companies House publishes directors, persons with significant control (PSC), and filed accounts under OGL v3.0. Ireland's CRO provides per-document access; bulk re-use requires a separate licence. The PSC register names individuals holding more than 25% of shares or voting rights, or otherwise exercising significant influence. It does not name individuals below that threshold.

US jurisdictions. Delaware does not require disclosure of LLC members. The Corporate Transparency Act (CTA) introduced a beneficial ownership reporting requirement to FinCEN; that database is not publicly accessible. The report establishes what the state registry shows — registered agent, formation date, any filed amendments — and states explicitly that member-level data is not available from public sources.

Offshore and low-disclosure jurisdictions. In jurisdictions where no shareholder register is filed publicly, the report establishes the registered agent, the registered office, and any filed documents. The chain above the registered level is not traceable from public sources. This is stated in the scope note before the report is commissioned.


The limit of what the sources allow

The ceiling of what the sources allow is stated before payment. This is not a disclaimer appended at the end; it is a condition of the engagement.

For a counterparty report before a minority stake acquisition, the structural limits are as follows.

Beneficial ownership. No public source in any jurisdiction reliably identifies the natural person who ultimately controls a company through a multi-layer holding structure. The report traces the chain to the point where it enters a non-disclosing jurisdiction or a non-filing entity type, and names that point explicitly.

Shareholders' agreements. These are private contracts. They are not filed. Their existence may be inferred from references in the articles or in filed amendments; their terms cannot be established from any public source.

Undisclosed encumbrances. A pledge or lien on shares is enforceable in most jurisdictions only if registered. If it is not registered, it does not appear in any source. A clean result in the pledge register means no registered encumbrance — not no encumbrance.

Insolvency timing. Insolvency registers record proceedings after they are opened and published. The gap between a filed petition and its appearance in the register varies by jurisdiction and by court workload. A negative result is a snapshot, not a guarantee.

Currency of data. Registry data reflects the last filed update. In jurisdictions with annual filing cycles, the most recent filed document may be twelve months old. The report states the filing date of every document extracted.


Where the sources disagree

When two sources return conflicting data on the same point, the conflict is reported as a finding, not resolved by the analyst.

Common conflict patterns in counterparty reports before minority stake acquisitions:

Shareholder register vs. filed accounts. The shareholder list names participant A with 60% and participant B with 40%. The filed accounts show a loan from a related party identified only as "a shareholder." The accounts do not name which shareholder. The conflict — or the ambiguity — is reported as a finding.

Director register vs. signatory on filed documents. The corporate registry lists one director. Filed documents bear the signature of a second individual, identified as "authorised representative." The basis of that authorisation does not appear in the filed documents. The discrepancy is reported.

Registered address vs. operational address. The corporate registry shows a registered office at a known registered-agent address. Filed accounts show a different address for correspondence. Neither source confirms which address is operationally current.

These conflicts do not resolve the question of control. They identify where the question requires further inquiry — through due diligence outside the registry layer, or through direct contractual representations from the counterparty.


Scope and fixed price

The report is available at three tiers. Each tier covers a defined set of source layers. The ceiling of each tier is stated in the "Not included" column.

Tier Price What is included Not included
Signal €890 Corporate registry extraction (directors, share capital, registered office, filed amendments); shareholder register where publicly filed; insolvency register check; scope note identifying source gaps Filed financial statements; articles of association review; conflict analysis across sources
Standard €1,900 All Signal content; filed financial statements (up to three most recent periods); articles of association; cross-source conflict analysis; written summary of control structure as established by sources Shareholders' agreement content; beneficial ownership beyond registered layer; jurisdictions where no public shareholder register exists
Extended €4,200 All Standard content; multi-jurisdiction chain tracing (up to 35 jurisdictions); UBO register checks where access is confirmed; enforcement and judgment database checks; written scope note on each jurisdiction where the chain cannot be traced further Natural persons not appearing in any public source; content of private agreements; FinCEN BOI database (not publicly accessible)

The scope note identifying what the sources cannot confirm is included at every tier. It is issued before the report is delivered, not after.


Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between a counterparty report and legal due diligence? A counterparty report establishes facts from official sources: who is registered, what is filed, what the register shows. Legal due diligence interprets those facts in the context of applicable law and advises on their implications for a transaction. This report does the first. It does not do the second.

Can the report confirm that no shareholders' agreement exists? No public source can confirm the absence of a shareholders' agreement. The report identifies whether a shareholders' agreement is referenced in filed documents. It cannot confirm that no such agreement exists between the parties.

What happens if the counterparty is incorporated in a jurisdiction where the shareholder register is not public? The scope note issued before the report is commissioned identifies this condition. The report establishes what is available — registered agent, formation documents, any filed amendments — and states explicitly that shareholder-level data is not available from public sources in that jurisdiction.

How current is the data? Each document extracted is dated. The report states the filing date of every source used. Registry data reflects the last filed update; in jurisdictions with annual filing cycles, that may be up to twelve months prior to the extraction date.

Does a clean insolvency result mean the counterparty is solvent? No. A clean result in an insolvency register means no recorded proceeding as of the extraction date. It does not confirm the absence of a filed petition not yet recorded, a foreign proceeding not reflected in the domestic register, or financial distress not yet subject to formal proceedings.

Is the report available for counterparties in all 35 jurisdictions simultaneously? Yes. The Extended tier covers multi-jurisdiction chain tracing across up to 35 jurisdictions. The scope note for each jurisdiction identifies the available source layers and the points where the chain cannot be traced further.


Sources

The following source categories are used in this report. Specific registries are selected based on the counterparty's jurisdiction of incorporation. No exact tariff or fee for registry access is stated here; access costs vary by jurisdiction and are described in the scope note issued before the report is commissioned.

  • National corporate registries — primary source for director appointments, share capital, registered office, and filed amendments. Access conditions (registration, national identifier, declaration of legitimate interest) vary by jurisdiction.
  • Filed shareholder registers — where mandatory filing applies: Germany (handelsregister.de), Poland (KRS), United Kingdom (Companies House — companieshouse.gov.uk), Ireland (CRO — cro.ie), and equivalents in other civil-law jurisdictions.
  • Filed financial statements — extracted from the same corporate registry where mandatory filing applies, or from dedicated financial disclosure platforms where separate filing is required.
  • Insolvency and enforcement registers — national court-administered databases; access conditions and publication timelines vary by jurisdiction.
  • UBO registers — where access is confirmed as available for the specific jurisdiction and the specific request type. EU UBO register access is verified per jurisdiction following CJEU C-37/20; no EU UBO register is treated as openly accessible without that verification.
  • Articles of association — filed with the corporate registry in most civil-law jurisdictions; available on request in most common-law jurisdictions.

Source dates: every document extracted carries the extraction date, which falls within 30 days before the report delivery date. The extraction date for each source is stated in the report body.


Request this report

Request this report


Disclaimer: This report is a factual compilation from official registers and public sources. It is provided for informational purposes only, does not constitute legal advice, and contains no legal qualification of the facts established. VLO Law Firm assumes no liability for actions taken or not taken based on this material. For advice regarding your particular situation, please contact info@vlolawfirm.com.

Author: Elena Moretti — Partner, Continental Europe, VLO Law Firm