Record
2026-10-06 06:00 Switzerland

Ownership structure in Switzerland: what can be established

Switzerland maintains a federal commercial register that names directors and confirms share capital. Control, however, is a separate question. The register records who signs for the company; it does not record who instructs those signatories. Establishing actual control over a Swiss entity requires layering at least three sources — the commercial register, the transparency declaration filed under the Code of Obligations, and, where applicable, the beneficial ownership register held by the company itself. Each layer has a different access condition and a different ceiling.

The angle here is control: who actually holds the company, what the shareholder can enforce, and at which point the official record stops answering.

What the commercial register showsDirectors, authorised signatories, registered address, share capital, and the company's legal form. Source: cantonal commercial registers (Handelsregister) · verified 2026-09-15 What it does not showShareholders of an AG are not listed in the public register. For a GmbH, the list of quota-holders (Gesellschafterliste) is filed and publicly accessible. Source: Art. 791 OR · verified 2026-09-15 Beneficial ownership recordSince 1 July 2015, Swiss companies must maintain an internal register of beneficial owners (Art. 697l OR). This register is held by the company, not by a public authority, and is not accessible to third parties. Source: Art. 697l–697m OR · verified 2026-09-15 Transparency declarationShareholders acquiring more than 25% of a non-listed AG must declare the beneficial owner to the company in writing (Art. 697j OR). The declaration is internal; it does not appear in any public register. Source: Art. 697j OR · verified 2026-09-15

What the commercial register records — and what it omits

Switzerland operates 26 cantonal commercial registers, federated under the Central Business Names Index (Zefix). Zefix aggregates entries from all cantons and is searchable by company name, UID, or canton. The record is in German, French, or Italian depending on the canton.

For a GmbH (Gesellschaft mit beschränkter Haftung), the quota-holders and their respective shares are filed with the cantonal register and are publicly accessible. A change of quota-holder requires a notarial deed and registration; the register therefore reflects the current ownership structure with reasonable accuracy.

For an AG (Aktiengesellschaft), the position is different. Shareholders are not listed in the public register. The register shows the total share capital, the number and nominal value of shares, and whether shares are registered (Namenaktien) or bearer (Inhaberaktien). Since 1 November 2019, bearer shares in non-listed AGs are prohibited unless the company is listed on a recognised exchange or the bearer shares are held in book-entry form with a licensed intermediary (Art. 622 para. 1bis OR). This reform substantially reduced the anonymity available through bearer shares, but it did not make the shareholder register public.

The internal shareholder register of an AG is maintained by the company. It is not filed with the cantonal register. A third party cannot obtain it through the register; access requires a court order or voluntary disclosure.

Source: Zefix / cantonal Handelsregister · verified 2026-09-15


Directors, signatories, and the gap between authority and control

The commercial register records every person with signing authority (Zeichnungsberechtigung) and specifies whether they sign individually (Einzelunterschrift) or jointly (Kollektivunterschrift). This is the layer of formal authority.

Formal authority and actual control are not the same thing. A director with individual signing authority may act under instruction from a shareholder who does not appear in any public record. A nominee director arrangement is not prohibited under Swiss law; it is not disclosed in the register.

What the register allows a third party to establish:

  • The identity of current directors and their signing authority
  • The date of appointment and, where applicable, resignation
  • The registered seat and the UID (Unternehmens-Identifikationsnummer)
  • For a GmbH: the quota-holders and their shares
  • For an AG: the share capital structure, but not the shareholders

What the register does not allow a third party to establish:

  • The identity of shareholders of an AG
  • The identity of the beneficial owner as declared under Art. 697j OR
  • Whether a shareholder agreement restricts the directors' discretion
  • Whether a fiduciary or nominee arrangement is in place

Source: Art. 720–721 OR, Art. 791 OR, Art. 697j–697m OR · verified 2026-09-15


The beneficial ownership layer

Swiss law introduced mandatory beneficial ownership declarations in 2015 as part of the revision of the Code of Obligations (GAFI revision). The rules apply to non-listed companies.

For an AG: any person who acquires registered shares representing 25% or more of the share capital or voting rights must declare the natural person who is the ultimate beneficial owner to the company within one month (Art. 697j OR). The company records this in its internal beneficial ownership register.

For a GmbH: the same declaration obligation applies when a quota-holder reaches the 25% threshold.

The internal register is accessible to Swiss law enforcement and the financial intermediary (bank, fiduciary) in the context of anti-money laundering due diligence. It is not accessible to the general public or to a foreign counterparty conducting commercial due diligence.

This means the beneficial ownership layer exists in Swiss law, is maintained at the company level, and is verifiable only through the company itself or through a Swiss court or supervisory authority. A third-party analytical report can establish that the obligation exists, identify the threshold, and document whether the company's filings are consistent with the declared structure — but it cannot retrieve the internal register directly.

Source: Art. 697j–697m OR (GAFI revision, in force 1 July 2015) · verified 2026-09-15


Share capital, financial statements, and the SOGC

The Swiss Official Gazette of Commerce (SOGC / SHAB) publishes notices of capital increases, reductions, mergers, and liquidations. These notices are searchable and provide a timeline of structural changes.

Financial statements of Swiss companies are not publicly filed as a rule. The obligation to publish accounts applies only to companies that exceed two of three thresholds set in Art. 961 OR: balance sheet total of CHF 20 million, revenue of CHF 40 million, or 250 full-time employees. Companies below these thresholds file accounts with the tax authority, not with a public register.

For companies subject to ordinary audit (ordentliche Revision), the auditor's report is filed but not publicly accessible. For companies subject to limited audit (eingeschränkte Revision) or that have opted out of audit entirely (Opting-out, available to companies with fewer than ten employees), no external audit report exists.

This limits the financial layer of a Swiss ownership analysis. The analytical path for a company below the Art. 961 OR threshold runs through the SOGC notices, the commercial register history, and, where the company has a banking relationship, through the bank's own KYC file — which is not accessible to a third party.

Source: Art. 961 OR, SOGC (shab.ch) · verified 2026-09-15


Cantonal variation and the federal layer

Switzerland's 26 cantons each maintain their own register. The federal Zefix index aggregates names and UIDs but does not aggregate documents. To retrieve filed documents — articles of association, notarial deeds, capital increase records — the request goes to the cantonal register of the company's seat.

Cantons differ in their document delivery procedures. Some cantons provide electronic access to filed documents; others require a written request. The language of the register follows the official language of the canton: German in most cantons, French in Geneva, Vaud, Neuchâtel, Jura, and Fribourg (bilingual), Italian in Ticino.

For a cross-border buyer, the practical consequence is that a single Swiss entity may require engagement with a specific cantonal register in a language other than English, with a document delivery process that varies by canton.

Source: Zefix (zefix.ch), cantonal Handelsregister · verified 2026-09-15


The limit of what the sources allow

The ceiling of what the sources allow is stated before payment.

The commercial register establishes the formal structure of a Swiss entity with reasonable completeness for a GmbH and with significant gaps for an AG. For a GmbH, quota-holders are named and their shares are recorded; changes require notarial registration. For an AG, the shareholder register is private; the public record shows capital structure but not ownership.

The beneficial ownership layer under Art. 697j OR exists in law and is maintained internally. It is not retrievable through any public register. An analytical report can document the legal obligation, identify the threshold, and cross-reference the declared structure against other available sources — but it cannot produce the internal register.

Financial statements are not publicly filed for the majority of Swiss companies. The SOGC provides a structural timeline through notices, but not a financial picture.

The chain of control for a Swiss AG therefore breaks at the shareholder register. The report names the point where it breaks and the legal basis for that break. It does not substitute an inference for a fact.

Specific conditions that cannot be overcome through public sources:

  • The identity of AG shareholders below the 25% threshold
  • The content of any shareholder agreement
  • The identity of a beneficial owner where the 25% threshold has not been reached
  • Any nominee or fiduciary arrangement not disclosed voluntarily

Where the sources disagree

A Zefix entry and a cantonal register document may show different dates for the same event. This occurs because Zefix is updated after the cantonal register processes the filing; the lag varies by canton and by the volume of filings. Where a discrepancy appears, the cantonal register document is the primary source.

A GmbH quota-holder list in the commercial register and the company's internal shareholder register may diverge if a transfer has been executed but not yet notarially registered. Swiss law requires notarial form for GmbH quota transfers (Art. 785 OR), but the registration at the cantonal register follows the notarial deed; the gap between deed and registration is a known window.

Where the SOGC notice of a capital increase and the commercial register entry show different dates, the SOGC notice records the date of publication, not the date of the underlying resolution. The resolution date appears in the notarial deed filed with the cantonal register.

These discrepancies are documented in the report with source and date for each entry.

Source: Art. 785 OR, Zefix, SOGC · verified 2026-09-15


Scope and fixed price

Tier Price What is included Not included
Signal €890 Commercial register extract (Zefix + cantonal), directors and signing authority, GmbH quota-holder list, share capital structure, SOGC notice timeline, UID verification Shareholder identity for AG, beneficial ownership register, financial statements, shareholder agreements
Standard €1,900 All Signal content, plus: cantonal register documents (articles of association, capital history), cross-reference of SOGC notices against register entries, identification of structural changes over a five-year period, documented discrepancy log Internal beneficial ownership register, content of shareholder agreements, tax filings, banking KYC file
Extended €4,200 All Standard content, plus: multi-entity mapping where the Swiss entity is part of a group, cross-border chain analysis to the first identifiable natural person, documented limit statement for each break in the chain, legal basis cited for each gap Facts that require court order or voluntary disclosure by the company; legal advice on enforceability

FAQ

What can be established about the shareholders of a Swiss AG from public sources? The public record shows total share capital, number of shares, and nominal value. Since November 2019, bearer shares in non-listed AGs must be held in book-entry form with a licensed intermediary or are prohibited. The identity of registered shareholders is held in the company's internal register and is not publicly accessible. For a GmbH, quota-holders are named in the cantonal commercial register.

Does the Swiss beneficial ownership register under Art. 697j OR provide public access? No. The register is maintained by the company and is accessible to Swiss law enforcement and financial intermediaries in the context of AML obligations. It is not accessible to third parties through any public register or official portal.

What does the SOGC record, and how far back does it go? The SOGC publishes notices of registrations, capital changes, mergers, liquidations, and other structural events. The online archive covers notices published from 1994 onward. Earlier notices exist in print form. The SOGC records the event as published; the underlying documents are held by the cantonal register.

Is there a difference between a GmbH and an AG for ownership analysis purposes? Yes. For a GmbH, quota-holders and their shares are part of the public commercial register record; transfers require notarial form and registration. For an AG, the shareholder register is private. This distinction is material for any cross-border ownership analysis and determines which tier of report is appropriate.

What happens when a Swiss entity is part of a multi-jurisdictional group? The Swiss commercial register records only the Swiss entity. Parent companies, subsidiaries, and sister entities in other jurisdictions are identified through cross-referencing SOGC notices, filed documents, and, where available, foreign registers. The Extended tier covers multi-entity mapping and cross-border chain analysis to the first identifiable natural person.


Sources:

  • Zefix — Central Business Names Index — zefix.ch — verified 2026-09-15
  • Cantonal commercial registers (Handelsregister) — accessed via cantonal portals — verified 2026-09-15
  • Swiss Official Gazette of Commerce (SOGC / SHAB) — shab.ch — verified 2026-09-15
  • Swiss Code of Obligations (OR), Art. 622, 697j–697m, 785, 791, 961 — admin.ch — verified 2026-09-15

Request this report

Request this report


Disclaimer: This report is a factual compilation from official registers and public sources. It is provided for informational purposes only, does not constitute legal advice, and contains no legal qualification of the facts established. VLO Law Firm assumes no liability for actions taken or not taken based on this material. For advice regarding your particular situation, please contact info@vlolawfirm.com.

Author: Katharina Berg — Partner, Central Europe, VLO Law Firm