Before signing a shareholders agreement, the question is not whether the counterparty exists. The question is who controls it, on what terms, and what enforcement mechanisms are available if those terms are breached. England and Wales provides one of the most accessible corporate disclosure environments in the world. That accessibility has a ceiling, and the ceiling is stated here before any payment is made.
Control in an English company is established through a layered record: the register of members, the persons with significant control (PSC) register, the articles of association, and any shareholders agreement filed or referenced in the statutory record. Each layer is held at a different source. Each source has a different extraction path, a different turnaround, and a different limit.
Primary registryCompanies House — the official registrar for England and Wales. Source: Companies House · verified 2026-09-15 PSC registerPersons with significant control are disclosed by name, nature of control, and date of notification. Indirect and trust-held interests are declared but not verified by the registrar. Source: Companies House PSC register · verified 2026-09-15 Insolvency recordThe Individual Insolvency Register and the Companies House insolvency filings cover bankruptcy orders, individual voluntary arrangements, debt relief orders, and winding-up proceedings. Source: Insolvency Service / Companies House · verified 2026-09-15 Court recordCounty Court judgments (CCJs) against companies are held on the Register of Judgments, Orders and Fines. High Court enforcement is traceable through separate channels. Source: Registry Trust · verified 2026-09-15 Condition of accessCompanies House data is released under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Redistribution with attribution is permitted. The PSC register is publicly searchable without registration.Source: Companies House · extracted 2026-09-15
The statutory record at Companies House is the starting point for any counterparty analysis in England and Wales. It contains the certificate of incorporation, the current and historical registered addresses, the confirmation statements, the full register of directors, and the PSC register.
The register of members — the list of shareholders with their holdings — is a statutory document. For private companies, it is not filed at Companies House by default. It is maintained at the registered office or at a single alternative inspection location (SAIL). Access requires a formal inspection request under the Companies Act 2006. The company has five working days to comply or to apply to court to refuse.
The PSC register discloses individuals or legal entities holding more than 25% of shares or voting rights, or otherwise exercising significant influence or control. The threshold is statutory. Entries below 25% are not captured unless the company's articles impose a lower threshold.
Filing history at Companies House includes the articles of association, any special resolutions amending them, charges registered against the company, and confirmation statements. Accounts are filed annually. The filing obligation and the level of detail depend on the company's size classification.
Source: Companies House filing history · extracted 2026-09-15
The PSC register is the primary instrument for establishing control in England and Wales. It is publicly searchable. It names the person with significant control, states the nature of that control (shares, voting rights, appointment rights, or other significant influence), and records the date of notification.
The register does not verify the accuracy of the declaration. The registrar records what is notified. If a beneficial owner holds shares through a nominee and the nominee does not notify, the register reflects the nominee, not the beneficial owner. The Economic Crime (Transparency and Enforcement) Act 2022 and subsequent reforms have tightened the verification regime, but the register remains a declaration-based instrument.
For corporate shareholders, the PSC register identifies the relevant legal entity. It does not trace the ownership of that entity. If the shareholder is a foreign holding company, the chain above it is outside the scope of the Companies House record. Tracing that chain requires separate registry access in the jurisdiction of incorporation of the holding entity.
Shareholders agreements are private contracts. They are not filed at Companies House unless they amend the articles or are referenced in a resolution that is filed. The existence of a shareholders agreement is not disclosed in the statutory record. Its terms — including drag-along, tag-along, pre-emption rights, and reserved matters — are not visible from the public record.
Source: Companies House PSC register · extracted 2026-09-15
The Insolvency Service maintains the Individual Insolvency Register, which covers bankruptcy orders, individual voluntary arrangements (IVAs), and debt relief orders against natural persons. Companies House holds the insolvency record for corporate entities, including winding-up petitions, administration orders, and liquidation appointments.
A negative result in the insolvency register does not confirm the absence of a filed petition. There is a gap between the filing of a winding-up petition and its appearance in the public record. The gap is a function of court processing time, not registry delay.
County Court judgments against a company are searchable on the Register of Judgments, Orders and Fines, maintained by Registry Trust. The register covers judgments in England and Wales. It does not cover High Court judgments, which are not centrally indexed in the same way. Enforcement action in the High Court — including charging orders, third-party debt orders, and writs of control — requires separate verification through court records.
Source: Insolvency Service / Companies House / Registry Trust · extracted 2026-09-15
The turnaround for a counterparty report in England and Wales is driven by three variables: the depth of the corporate chain, the number of jurisdictions involved, and whether inspection of the register of members is required.
| Step | Source | Typical turnaround |
|---|---|---|
| Companies House filing history and PSC register | Companies House digital record | Same day |
| Articles of association and resolutions | Companies House filing history | Same day |
| Insolvency check — corporate | Companies House insolvency filings | Same day |
| Insolvency check — individuals (directors, PSC) | Individual Insolvency Register | Same day |
| County Court judgments | Registry Trust | 1–2 working days |
| Register of members inspection | Registered office / SAIL | Up to 5 working days (statutory response period) |
| Foreign holding entity — registry extraction | Jurisdiction-dependent | 2–10 working days |
| Accounts analysis | Companies House / HMRC-filed accounts | 1–3 working days |
The total elapsed time for a standard report — covering the domestic layer without foreign chain tracing — is two to four working days. Where the corporate chain includes one or more foreign holding entities, the timeline extends by the extraction time of each additional jurisdiction.
Source: Companies House / Insolvency Service / Registry Trust · extracted 2026-09-15
The public record in England and Wales is among the most detailed available. It does not answer every question a prospective shareholder needs to answer before signing.
The register of members is not public for private companies. It requires a formal inspection request. The company can apply to court to refuse that request. If the court grants the refusal, the register is not accessible before signing.
The PSC register records declarations. It does not verify them. A nominee structure that is not notified does not appear. The register shows what has been declared, not what exists.
Shareholders agreements are private. Their terms — reserved matters, veto rights, exit mechanics, anti-dilution provisions — are not in the statutory record. Their existence can sometimes be inferred from articles of association or filed resolutions, but their content cannot be established from public sources.
Accounts filed by small and micro-entity companies are abbreviated. Profit and loss accounts are not required to be filed. The financial picture available from the public record is partial for most private companies.
Court records outside the County Court register are not centrally searchable. High Court proceedings, arbitration awards, and overseas enforcement actions require targeted verification.
The ceiling of what the sources allow is stated before payment. Where a chain cannot be traced to its end, the report names the point at which it stops and the reason.
Discrepancies between the PSC register and the register of members arise where share transfers have not been notified to Companies House promptly. The confirmation statement captures the position at a point in time; the register of members at the registered office may reflect a more recent position.
Discrepancies between filed accounts and the actual financial position of the company arise where accounts are filed late, where the company qualifies for abbreviated filing, or where intercompany transactions are consolidated at a level above the entity under review.
Where a discrepancy is identified between two sources, it is recorded as a finding, not resolved by inference.
| Tier | Price | What is included | Not included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Signal | €890 | Companies House filing history; PSC register; directors register; insolvency check (corporate and individual); CCJ search; summary of articles of association; one-page findings memo | Register of members inspection; accounts analysis; foreign chain tracing; shareholders agreement review |
| Standard | €1,900 | All Signal content; register of members inspection request and follow-up; accounts analysis (up to three filed periods); identification of discrepancies between PSC register and accounts; extended findings memo | Foreign chain tracing beyond one jurisdiction; shareholders agreement review; High Court enforcement search |
| Extended | €4,200 | All Standard content; foreign chain tracing (up to two additional jurisdictions); High Court enforcement verification; cross-source discrepancy analysis; structured findings report with source citations | Shareholders agreement drafting or review; legal advice; representation |
What does the PSC register actually show for a private company? The PSC register names individuals or entities holding more than 25% of shares or voting rights, or exercising significant influence or control. It records the nature of control and the date of notification. It does not verify the declaration and does not trace ownership above a corporate PSC.
Can the register of members be obtained before signing? A formal inspection request under the Companies Act 2006 can be made. The company has five working days to comply or to apply to court to refuse. Refusal is possible. The outcome is not guaranteed before a signing deadline.
Does a clean insolvency record confirm the company is solvent? No. A negative result confirms no recorded insolvency event as of the date of search. A winding-up petition filed but not yet processed does not appear. Solvency is not established by a registry search alone.
What if the shareholder is a foreign holding company? The domestic PSC register identifies the foreign entity. It does not trace ownership above it. Tracing requires a separate registry extraction in the jurisdiction of incorporation of that entity. The Standard and Extended tiers cover this.
Are shareholders agreements visible in the public record? No. Shareholders agreements are private contracts. Their existence is not disclosed at Companies House unless they amend the articles or are referenced in a filed resolution. Their terms are not accessible from public sources.
Sources:
Companies House — https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk — extracted 2026-09-15
Insolvency Service — Individual Insolvency Register — https://www.insolvencydirect.bis.gov.uk/eiir/ — extracted 2026-09-15
Registry Trust — Register of Judgments, Orders and Fines — https://www.registrytrust.org.uk — extracted 2026-09-15
Disclaimer: This report is a factual compilation from official registers and public sources. It is provided for informational purposes only, does not constitute legal advice, and contains no legal qualification of the facts established. VLO Law Firm assumes no liability for actions taken or not taken based on this material. For advice regarding your particular situation, please contact info@vlolawfirm.com.
Author: James Whitfield — Partner, UK & Common Law, VLO Law Firm