Record
2026-09-22 06:00 Ireland

Counterparty in Ireland: what can be established

Control over an Irish company is recorded in layers. The Companies Registration Office holds the statutory layer: directors, secretary, share capital, filed annual returns, and constitutional documents. A separate UBO register — the Register of Beneficial Ownership — sits with the Registrar of Beneficial Ownership of Companies and Industrial and Provident Societies. Each layer has its own access conditions, its own depth, and its own ceiling.

The angle here is control: who directs the company, who holds the shares, and what a counterparty can enforce. That question runs through every source described below.

What the CRO showsDirectors and secretary by name, share capital structure, filed annual returns, constitutional documents, and charges. Source: Companies Registration Office (cro.ie) · verified 2026-09-05 Access conditionPublic access without registration. Per-document retrieval is permitted; bulk re-use requires a CRO licence. Source: CRO terms of use · verified 2026-09-05 UBO registerThe Register of Beneficial Ownership is maintained separately by the RBO (rbo.gov.ie). Access conditions and disclosure depth differ from the CRO. Source: rbo.gov.ie · verified 2026-09-05 What neither source showsActual control exercised through nominee arrangements, trust structures, or contractual side-agreements is not recorded in either register.

Directors, secretary, and share capital at the CRO

The Companies Registration Office is the primary statutory record for Irish companies. It holds the register of directors and secretary, the memorandum and articles of association, annual returns with attached financial statements, and the register of charges.

A director search returns the individual's name, address as filed, date of appointment, and any other Irish directorships on record. The CRO does not verify the accuracy of filed addresses; it records what was submitted.

Share capital is disclosed in the constitutional documents and in annual returns. The CRO shows the authorised and issued capital, the class of shares, and — where a full list of members is filed — the names of shareholders and their holdings. Irish law requires a full list of members to be filed with the annual return at least once every five years; in intervening years, a change-only list is permitted. The practical consequence: the CRO record of shareholders may reflect a position that is up to five years old.

Charges registered against the company are searchable by company name or number. A charge registration confirms the existence of a security interest and the chargee's identity; it does not disclose the underlying loan amount or the full terms of the security document.

Source: Companies Registration Office · cro.ie · verified 2026-09-05


Beneficial ownership: the RBO layer

Since 2019, Irish companies are required to file details of their beneficial owners — individuals who ultimately own or control more than 25% of shares or voting rights, or who otherwise exercise control — with the Register of Beneficial Ownership.

The RBO is maintained separately from the CRO. Following the Court of Justice of the European Union judgment in Joined Cases C-37/20 and C-601/20 (November 2022), public access to UBO registers across EU member states was suspended pending review. The current access position for the Irish RBO — whether public access has been restored, restricted, or made subject to a legitimate interest test — must be verified against the current state of the register before any search is commissioned.

Where access is available, the RBO discloses the beneficial owner's name, nationality, country of residence, date of birth (partial), and the nature and extent of the interest held. It does not disclose the full date of birth, the precise residential address, or the underlying ownership documents.

A company that has no registrable beneficial owner — because no individual meets the 25% threshold — must file a statement to that effect and record the senior managing official as the relevant person. That filing does not identify the actual ownership structure above the threshold.

Source: Register of Beneficial Ownership · rbo.gov.ie · verified 2026-09-05


Financial statements and annual returns

Irish companies are required to file annual returns with the CRO. The annual return includes financial statements for most company types, subject to size-based exemptions.

Small companies may file abridged accounts, which omit the profit and loss account and certain notes. Micro companies may file even more limited information. The result: for a small or micro Irish counterparty, the CRO financial record shows a balance sheet and limited notes — not revenue, not operating profit, not a breakdown of creditors by counterparty.

Large and medium companies file fuller accounts, including the profit and loss account and a directors' report. Group structures file consolidated accounts at the parent level; subsidiary accounts may show only the subsidiary's own position, with a reference to the group consolidation.

The filing deadline for annual returns is 28 days after the annual return date. Late filing attracts a late filing penalty; persistent non-filing can result in strike-off. A company struck off the register loses its legal personality. The CRO strike-off register is searchable.

Source: Companies Registration Office · cro.ie · verified 2026-09-05


Insolvency and enforcement records

Irish insolvency proceedings — liquidation, receivership, examinership — generate filings at the CRO. A liquidator's appointment is notified to the CRO; a receiver's appointment over registered charges is similarly recorded. Examinership, the Irish court protection procedure, is initiated by court order and reported to the CRO.

The CRO insolvency record reflects what has been filed. A petition presented to the High Court but not yet resulting in an appointment will not appear in the CRO record. Court proceedings are searchable through the Courts Service of Ireland, but the Courts Service search interface does not provide a consolidated view of all proceedings against a named entity.

Judgment mortgages and enforcement orders against Irish property are registered in the Land Registry (now part of Tailte Éireann). A judgment mortgage search against a named individual or company requires the property folio number or the registered owner's name and county. A name-only search across all folios is not available through the standard public interface.

Source: Companies Registration Office · cro.ie · verified 2026-09-05 Source: Tailte Éireann (Land Registry) · tailte.ie · verified 2026-09-05 Source: Courts Service of Ireland · courts.ie · verified 2026-09-05


Cross-border ownership chains

An Irish company may be owned by a non-Irish holding company. The CRO record identifies the immediate corporate shareholder by name; it does not trace the chain above that entity. Establishing the full ownership chain requires parallel searches in the jurisdiction of the intermediate holding company, and in each jurisdiction above it.

Where the intermediate holding is in a jurisdiction that does not maintain a public register of company ownership — or where the register exists but does not disclose shareholders — the chain cannot be traced through official sources alone. The point at which the chain becomes opaque is itself a finding: it identifies the jurisdiction and the structural layer at which official disclosure ends.

Irish companies with a non-EEA parent are not required to file the parent's accounts at the CRO unless the Irish entity is a branch of a foreign company. A branch registration at the CRO includes the parent's constitutional documents and accounts; a subsidiary registration does not.

Source: Companies Registration Office · cro.ie · verified 2026-09-05


The limit of what the sources allow

The CRO and RBO together cover the statutory disclosure layer. That layer has defined ceilings.

The share register filed at the CRO may be up to five years old. It records legal ownership, not beneficial ownership. A nominee shareholder appears in the CRO record as the registered holder; the beneficial owner behind the nominee does not appear unless separately disclosed at the RBO.

The RBO records the declared beneficial owner. It does not record the legal mechanism — trust deed, nominee agreement, side-letter — through which control is exercised. A declaration that no individual holds more than 25% is accepted as filed; the RBO does not audit the underlying structure.

Financial statements for small and micro companies omit the profit and loss account. Revenue, operating margin, and creditor exposure are not available from the CRO record for these entities.

Insolvency proceedings initiated but not yet resulting in a CRO filing — a petition presented, a receiver informally appointed, a winding-up resolution passed but not yet notified — will not appear in a CRO search. The gap between event and filing is a structural feature of the record, not an anomaly.

Control exercised through contractual arrangements — shareholder agreements, voting trusts, drag-along and tag-along provisions — is not recorded in any public register. These arrangements are private documents. Their existence can sometimes be inferred from the constitutional documents or from the terms of a charge, but inference is not the same as disclosure.

The ceiling of what the sources allow is stated before payment. Where the record stops, the report says so explicitly.


Where the sources disagree

Discrepancies between the CRO record and the RBO record are a finding in their own right. A shareholder listed at the CRO with a holding above 25% who does not appear in the RBO as a beneficial owner indicates either a nominee arrangement, a filing gap, or a structural reason why the threshold test is not met. Each possibility has different implications for a counterparty assessment.

Discrepancies between filed financial statements and the share capital structure — for example, a company with substantial issued share capital but minimal net assets — are similarly recorded as findings, not resolved by the report.

Where the annual return date and the most recent filed accounts are separated by a period that exceeds the statutory filing window, the report notes the gap and the date of the most recent available filing.


What is included at each tier

Tier Price What is included Not included
Signal €890 CRO company profile: directors, secretary, share capital, charges, filing status. Summary of most recent annual return. Identification of any insolvency filings. RBO beneficial ownership search. Financial statement analysis. Cross-border ownership chain tracing.
Standard €1,900 Everything in Signal, plus: RBO beneficial ownership search (subject to current access conditions). Analysis of filed financial statements for the most recent three years. Identification of discrepancies between CRO and RBO records. Cross-border chain tracing beyond the immediate Irish entity. Court proceedings search. Land Registry enforcement search.
Extended €4,200 Everything in Standard, plus: cross-border ownership chain tracing through intermediate holding jurisdictions (up to three levels). Courts Service proceedings search. Tailte Éireann judgment mortgage search where property folio is identified. Written analysis of control structure and identified gaps. Legal advice. Qualification of findings. Searches in jurisdictions where official access requires local registration or a court order.

FAQ

What does the CRO show about who controls an Irish company? The CRO shows directors, secretary, and the share capital structure as filed. It shows the registered shareholders where a full members list has been filed. It does not show who exercises actual control through nominee arrangements or contractual agreements. The most recent full members list may be up to five years old.

Is the Irish beneficial ownership register publicly accessible? The Register of Beneficial Ownership was established in 2019. Following the CJEU judgment of November 2022, public access to EU UBO registers was suspended pending review. The current access position must be verified at the time of the search. Where access is available, the RBO discloses the declared beneficial owner's name, nationality, country of residence, partial date of birth, and nature of interest.

Can financial statements be obtained for any Irish company? Financial statements are filed with the annual return at the CRO for most company types. Small and micro companies file abridged or limited accounts that omit the profit and loss account. Revenue and operating results are not available from the CRO record for these entities.

What happens if the Irish company is owned by a foreign holding company? The CRO identifies the immediate corporate shareholder. Tracing the chain above that entity requires parallel searches in the relevant foreign jurisdiction. Where the foreign jurisdiction does not maintain a public ownership register, the chain cannot be traced through official sources. The point at which the chain becomes opaque is recorded as a finding.

How current is the CRO record? Annual returns must be filed within 28 days of the annual return date. A full members list must be filed at least once every five years. The CRO record reflects what has been filed; it does not update in real time. A company that has recently changed directors or shareholders may not yet reflect that change in the filed record.

What is not covered by any of the three tiers? No tier provides legal advice, a legal qualification of the findings, or searches in jurisdictions where official access requires local registration, a court order, or a declaration of legitimate interest that cannot be made by a foreign law firm. Nominee agreements, shareholder agreements, and voting trusts are private documents and are not available from any public register.


Sources

Companies Registration Office — cro.ie — verified 2026-09-05

Register of Beneficial Ownership — rbo.gov.ie — verified 2026-09-05

Tailte Éireann (Land Registry and Property Registration Authority) — tailte.ie — verified 2026-09-05

Courts Service of Ireland — courts.ie — verified 2026-09-05


Request this report

Request this report


Disclaimer: This report is a factual compilation from official registers and public sources. It is provided for informational purposes only, does not constitute legal advice, and contains no legal qualification of the facts established. VLO Law Firm assumes no liability for actions taken or not taken based on this material. For advice regarding your particular situation, please contact info@vlolawfirm.com.

Author: James Whitfield — Partner, UK & Common Law, VLO Law Firm